Conductor Marin Alsop Returns to the ASO – In Concert at Symphony Hall – Saturday, January 17, 2015

Marin Alsop
Marin Alsop

The first female conductor of a major U.S. orchestra and one of the best, Marin Alsop returns to the ASO after a long absence. She conducts an evening of greats, including Barber’s dramatic Second Essay and Tchaikovsky’s final symphony, his sixth, the “Pathétique.” This greatest of all of Tchaikovsky’s works premiered just one week before his untimely death. Violinist Julian Rachlin plays Prokofiev’s Second Violin Concerto, the composer’s last commission before he returned home to Russia, homesick and ready to settle down.

Pre-Concert Lecture

The ASO offers free concert previews before each Thursday classical subscription concert. Hosted by ASO Insider and Program Annotator Ken Meltzer, these previews offer an informative and entertaining look at the music included in the concert program. Some nights he has special guests.  Open to all ticket holders, the talks are in Symphoy Hall from 7:00 – 7:30pm.

When:             Saturday, January 17, 2015
Where:           Atlanta Symphony Hall – 1280 Peachtree Street – Atlanta, GA
Tickets:          $24 – $75

Buy Tickets Button

For more information visit or


Leave a Reply